8 September, 2010

Chinese trampoliners dominate World Cup in Spain

dong_dong_trampoline - CHN

dong_dong_trampoline - CHNAt the fourth FIG Trampoline Gymnastics World Cup of the 2010 season, which took place on September 3 – 4 in Albacete (ESP), China proved yet again that it dominates the trampoline scene, winning three out of the four competitions.
The finals of the fourth World Cup of the 2010 World Cup Series took place on September 4, 2010 at the Pabellon Universitario Ciudad de Albacete in Albacete, Spain.
This Albacete World Cup stops in Ghent, Belgium, in April, Davos, Switzerland, in June, and Wroclaw, Poland, in July.  The last three stops of the 2010 World Cup Series will be held in Astrakhan, Russian, and Loule, Portugal, in September, and Salzgitter, Germany, in October.
In women’s individual trampoline, Olympic Champion He Wenna (CHN) edged her teammate Huang Shanshan (CHN), the reigning World Champion who had the lead after the preliminaries.  With this gold medal, He Wenna successfully defended her Albacete World Cup gold medal won at the last edition two years ago.  Joining He and Huang at the medal ceremony was 2008 European Junior Champion Emma Smith (GBR).  3-time Olympic medalist Karen Cockburn (CAN), who was in 3rd place after the preliminaries, struggled in the final and had to modify her routine.  She placed 6th.
World Champion Dong Dong (CHN) was able to hold on the lead he had after the preliminaries, and claimed the gold medal in the men’s individual trampoline final.  Olympic Champion Lu Chunlong (CHN) settled for the silver medal.  Kazuma Takahashi (JPN) earned the bronze medal.  
The women’s synchronized trampoline final yielded another gold medal for China with the triumph of World Champions Li Dan-Zhong Xingping (CHN – 46.50 pts), who outperformed silver medalists Mariah Madigan-Samantha Smith (CAN – 42.00 pts) and bronze medalists Carina Baumgaertner-Anna Dogonadze (GER – 41.40 pts). 
In men’s synchronized trampoline, Logan Dooley-Steven Gluckstein (USA) dominated their rivals and took the gold medal with 49.70 pts.  Charles Thibault-Martin Myers (CAN) claimed the silver medal with 46.30 pts, followed by local heroes Jose Manuel Munoz-Marc Pinol (ESP – 3rd with 45.00 pts).  It was the first World Cup medal ever won by Spain in men’s trampoline since the inception of World Cup Series in 1992.
The double mini-trampoline (DMT) competition held in parallel to the World Cup saw the victories of Galina Goncharenko (RUS) over Svetlana Balandina (RUS) and Laura Garcia (ESP) in the women’s, and of World Champion Andre Lico (POR) over Dimitri Fedorovsky (RUS) and Sergei Kovalev (RUS) in the men’s.

More details in the FIG news Here