14 January, 2019

Al Shathri re-elected as AGU picks new faces

DOHA (QAT) AGU Office: The Asian Gymnastics Union, which had its 20th Congress here last week, elected some new faces while the trusted ones including AGU President Mr Abdulrahman Al Shathri retained his position for yet another four-year term.
25 voted out of 28 member federations present at the Congress voted in favour of Mr Al Shathri, who was the only candidate for the post, while three remained abstained from secret ballot voting.

Miao, Ayad wins new position
For the four zonal vice-president elections, only one voting was conducted for West Zone while the other three candidates were unanimously elected as either there was no candidate and withdrawals.
Mr Miao Zhongyi (CHN) was elected unopposed as the new East Zone Vice-President as there was no second candidate for the post.
But the incumbent Mr Kau Git Kaur (MAS) withdrew his candidature against Thailand’s Mr Srayuth Patanasak for the South East Asian Zone Vice-President post with the latter unanimously elected as the new SEA Zone VP.
Mr Raslan Mustaev (UZB) also retained his position as VP Central South Zone after Painda Malik (PAK) withdrew his candidature.
For the West Zone, Ayad Najaf (IRQ) was elected as the new head after he defeated Iran’s Dr Zahra Incha Dargahi 6-1 in the secret ballot voting.

AGU Executive Committee
Mr Lee Wang Jung (KOR) was the only new face in the EC after he won 5-2 against Mr Galbadrakh Yeruulbat (MGL) as East Zone contestant.
Cynthia Norton (PHI) retained her post as EC Member (South East Zone) for another term as she didn’t face any contest.
Painda Malik (PAK) retained his post (South Central Zone) by beating Karan Singh Chauthala (IND) 4-3 while Qatar’s Ali Ahmed Al Hitmi (West Asian Zone) beat Mohsen Soleiman (IRN) 6-1.

AGU Technical Committee President
Mr Han Yoo Soo (KOR) was elected as the new TC MAG President. He collected 19 votes against two China’s Huang Liping (7) and Japan’s Teruaki Takeuchi (2) while Syria’s Nedal Al Yousef withdrew his candidature.
Six of the other TC committee presidents were re-elected as there were no other candidates for the respective posts.